My Tech Career Road Map

My Tech Career Road Map

Introduction

I have always been curious about computers. I mean right from when i was a child, but i think it was probably because of all the movies and games i could play on it. Either way, i was drawn to computers, which made me know my way around computers. However, in the course of choosing a career, I went with Law and sincerely, I loved it, I still love. It is a very demanding career path and I had to put my whole attention towards it and i am glad at where i am today with my law career. In todays world, technology has pretty much taken over. Technology can even be used to analyse large amount of Data to improve effiency, gain insight and realise greater value. Realising this, I knew I had to broaden my horizen and branch into Tech and more Specifically, Data Analytics and even use my knowlege of Data Analytics to further my law career. The interesting fact about Data Analytics is that i could use it to further my career in law and i could easily branch out into other sectors, which is very interesting.

Data Analytics

Data Analytics is basically analysing data, Large data. After analysis, the data is presented and the best cause of action can be taken based on the data. The data presented will show the true picture of a situation so that people can know what exactly needs to be done to address a situation. From this definition, Data Analytics can be used for a wide range of sectors, even Law.

Legal data analytics are objective data points that legal teams use to inform strategic decision-making. In CLOC’s 2021 State of the Industry report, 84% of respondents said handling “data analytics” was one of their major responsibilities. But only 43% labeled their skills in this area as “advanced” or “leading.”The value of legal data analytics isn’t about the information itself; it’s about how legal departments turn that knowledge into actions that can transform a business. Read more

Career Road Map

Knowing this, Data Analytics seemed to be the best Tech Career path for me and i am willing to do all i can to ensure that i excel in this field. To achieve this i have drawn up a road map which will guide me towards achieving my goals.

  1. Get to know the fundamentals of Data Analystics.
  2. Take my Data Analystics Course Seriously
  3. Work on the developing the Various Data Analystics Soft Skills
  4. Start Networking
  5. Update my Portfolio and prepare for the job market See more

Get to know the fundamentals of Data Analytics. I will begin to do my own research about Data Analytics and familiarize myself with the basic concept of the course. I believe by doing so, i would be able to keep up with the lectures when the course begins. Even when the course begins, i will ensure i read ahead of the class, so i can better understand what is being taught.

Take my Data Analystics Course Seriously When my course begins, i would ensure that i attend all my classes and pay close attention so i can get as much knowledge i can get about Data Analytics

Work on the developing the Various Data Analystics Soft Skills Together with my Data Analytics Course i will work on the various soft skills i need to succeed as a Data Analyst such as

  • Working on my communication, collaboration and presentation skills
  • Problem-solving
  • Research
  • Attention to detail
  • Develop an analytical mindset
  • Develop an affinity for numbers
  • Develop a good organizational skills and an ability to meet deadlines
  • Learn some commercial knowlegde or business acumen
  • Learn more about method and logical approach

Start Networking The priviledge of being in the Ada Program will afford me the chance to network with a lot of Tech savy individuals. Also the internship that accompanies the Ada program would be an awesome opportunity to Network.

Update my Portfolio and prepare for the job market After successfully completing the program, i would definitely be updating my Portfolio to Include Data Analyst. i would hope that my internship will give me some experience that i could use to buff up my Portfolio so as to make it more interesting to Prospective Employers.

I hope this was an interesting read. I look forward to achieving all my goals stated above and ultimately becoming a Data Analyst.

Thank you!!